With the recent increase in penalties for driving whilst using a mobile phone I thought it was time to have a look at some new headsets that you can use whilst driving.  I need to get something sorted pretty quickly as I find it hard to ignore my phone when it rings.

The type of headsets that I after are those ones that I can answer the phone with one button and is wireless from the earpiece to the phone.  So it must be bluetooth and pretty light.  Looking around I know that Plantronics Headsets are probably the leader of the market in this area.  My brother has one and he is really easy to hear on the telephone.

These all look suitable

HEADSETS > Mobile Headsets > Plantronics Headsets > Bluetooth

Plantronics Discovery 640X Bluetooth UK
Plantronics Discovery 640X Headset
Plantronics Discovery 640 Bluetooth EURO
Plantronics Discovery 640 Bluetooth EURO

They all seem to be about £60 which is a fair bit of cash to spend, but I guess they last a long time and keep you safe on the road.  I wonder if they have a way of allowing you to use hands free calling via voice without touching the headset.  This maybe possible as the answer button if held down goes into voice recognition.  I have a Nokia N70 which seems to work with most headsets and I know it does work with Bluetooth.

What I do want to know is whether you can get headaches from using bluetooth. A quick search on Google and I cannot really find anyone complaining about it so it must be ok.  I also used to think these kind of headsets looked a bit silly but I think that stigma has gone now that this legislation has come in and these are really the only good option.